Back to Home Page

Cadfael was an ITV TV Series that ran for four seasons from 1994 to 1998. The series featuring Derek Jacobi was adapted from "The Cadfael Chronicles" books (full list at bottom of page) by Ellis Peters of which there were twenty novels and one book of short stories. Only thirteen of the books were adapted for the TV series and I am only aware of twelve of these being re-published by Warner/Futura with TV-themed covers (the missing one being "The Potter's Field").

= In My Collection / = Not in My Collection

No 1

A Morbid Taste for Bones
No 2

One Corpse Too Many
No 3

Monk's Hood
No 4

Saint Peter's Fair
No 5

The Leper of Saint Giles
No 6

The Virgin in the Ice
No 7

The Sanctuary Sparrow
No 8

The Devil's Novice
No 9

Dead Man's Ransom
No 10

The Pilgrim of Hate
No 11

An Excellent Mystery
No 12

The Raven in the Foregate
No 13

The Rose Rent
No 14

The Hermit of Eyton Forest
No 15

The Confessions of Brother Haluin
No 16

The Heretic's Apprentice
No 17

The Potter's Field
No 18

The Summer of the Danes
No 19

The Holy Thief
No 20

Brother Cadfael's Penance
Short Stories

A Rare Benedictine

Ellis Peters' Cadfael Chronicles Books List

with original publication dates

1. A Morbid Taste for Bones (published in August 1977, set in 1137)
2. One Corpse Too Many (July 1979, set in August 1138)
3. Monk's Hood (August 1980, set in December 1138)
4. Saint Peter's Fair (May 1981, set in July 1139)
5. The Leper of Saint Giles (August 1981, set in October 1139)
6. The Virgin in the Ice (April 1982, set in November 1139)
7. The Sanctuary Sparrow (January 1983 set in the Spring of 1140)
8. The Devil's Novice (August 1983, set in September 1140)
9. Dead Man's Ransom (April 1984, set in February 1141)
10. The Pilgrim of Hate (September 1984, set in May 1141)
11. An Excellent Mystery (June 1985, set in August 1141)
12. The Raven in the Foregate (February 1986, set in December 1141)
13. The Rose Rent (October 1986, set in June 1142)
14. The Hermit of Eyton Forest (June 1987, set in October 1142)
15. The Confession of Brother Haluin (March 1988, set in December 1142)
16. The Heretic's Apprentice (February 1989, set in June 1143)
17. The Potter's Field (September 1989, set in August 1143)
18. The Summer of the Danes (April 1991, set in April 1144)
19. The Holy Thief (August 1992, set in February 1145)
20. Brother Cadfael's Penance (May 1994, set in November 1145)

A Rare Benedictine: The Advent of Brother Cadfael (September 1988, set in 1120)