Back to Home Page

Campion was a BBC TV crime series that ran for two seasons from 1989 to 1990 starring Peter Davison as Campion. The series was an adaptation of the Albert Campion mystery novels written by Margery Allingham (list at bottom of gallery). Eight of the books were adapted, four in each series and Penguin Books re-published the books with TV-themed covers, shown below in series/episode order. In addition there was at least three trade-size paperbacks published by JM Dent & Sons in 1992 with a TV themed cover (Thanks to Roger Merry for bringing this series to my attention).

= In My Collection / = Not in My Collection

Penguin Books


Look to the Lady

Police at the Funeral

The Case of the Late Pig

Death of a Ghost

Sweet Danger

Dancers in Mourning

Flowers for the Judge

Mystery Mile

J M Dent & Sons Books


The Fashion in Shrouds

Traitor's Purse

Coroner's Pidgin

Margery Allingham's Albert Campion Books List
with original publication dates

The Crime at Black Dudley (1929) (US title: The Black Dudley Murder)
Mystery Mile (1930)
Look to the Lady (1931) (US title: The Gyrth Chalice Mystery)
Police at the Funeral (1931)
Sweet Danger (1933) (US title: Kingdom of Death/The Fear Sign)
Death of a Ghost (1934)
Flowers for the Judge (1936) (US title: Legacy in Blood)
Dancers in Mourning (1937) (US title: Who Killed Chloe?)
Mr. Campion: Criminologist (1937) (short stories)
The Case of the Late Pig (1937) (originally appeared in Mr Campion: Criminologist)
The Fashion in Shrouds (1938)
Mr. Campion and Others (1939) (short stories)
Traitor's Purse (1941) (US title: The Sabotage Murder Mystery)
Coroner's Pidgin (1945) (US title: Pearls Before Swine)
The Casebook of Mr Campion (1947) (short stories)
More Work for the Undertaker (1948)
The Tiger in the Smoke (1952)
The Beckoning Lady (1955) (US title: The Estate of the Beckoning Lady)
Hide My Eyes (1958) (US title: Tether's End/Ten Were Missing)
The China Governess (1963)
The Mind Readers (1965)
Cargo of Eagles (1968) (completed by Philip Youngman Carter)
Mr. Campion's Farthing (1969) (by Philip Youngman Carter)
Mr. Campion's Falcon (1970) (US title: Mr. Campion's Quarry) (by Philip Youngman Carter)
The Allingham Minibus (1973) (aka Mr. Campion's Lucky Day) (short stories)
The Return of Mr. Campion (1989) (short stories)
Mr Campion's Farewell (2014) (Begun by Philip Youngman Carter, completed by Mike Ripley)
Mr Campion's Fox (2015) (by Mike Ripley)