Back to Home Page

Hercule Poirot is a fictional character created by Agatha Christie, appearing in thirty-three novels (list at bottom of page) and more than fifty short stories published between 1920 and 1975. Poirot was an ITV television series that ran for thirteen seasons from 1989 to 2013 which successfully adapted all of Christie's Poirot novels. Some of the books have been republished over those thirteen years with TV-themed covers featuring David Suchet in the title role. In 2018 a BBC mini-series of 'The ABC Murders' was made starring John Malkovich in the title role, and re-published with a TV-themed cover by Harper Collins Books.

= In My Collection / = Not in My Collection

Harper Collins Books


The Murder of Roger Ackroyd

Lord Edgware Dies

The Mystery of the Blue Train

Cards on the Table


Dead Man's Folly

The ABC Murders

William Morrow Books


Dead Man's Folly

The Big Four

Fontana Books


Book One

Book Two

Book Three

Book Four


There was also a fictional biography of Hercule Poirot written by Anne Hart which was published in 1991 with David Suchet on the cover and republished in 1997.

The Life and Times of Hercule Poirot

Sphere Books

Harper Collins Books

There was also a celebration book of Hercule Poirot written by Peter Haining which was published as paperback in 1995 with David Suchet on the cover.

A Celebration of the Great Detective

Boxtree Books

In addition to the TV series, there were a number of films made over the years...

Three films starring Austin Trevor as Poirot...
Alibi (1931) based on the play which in turn was based on the book "The Murder of Roger Ackroyd"
Black Coffee (1931) based on the play
Lord Edgware Dies (1934).

One film starring Tony Randall as Poirot...
The Alphabet Murders (1965) based on the book "The ABC Murders".

One film starring Albert Finney as Poirot...
Murder on the Orient Express (1974).

Six films starring Peter Ustinov as Poirot...
Death on the Nile (1978)
Evil Under the Sun (1982)
Appointment With Death (1988)
Thirteen at Dinner (1985)
Dead Man's Folly (1986)
Murder in Three Acts (1986).

One film starring Kenneth Branagh as Poirot...
Murder on the Orient Express (2017).

Fontana Books


The ABC Murders

Murder on the Orient Express

Death on the Nile

Evil Under the Sun

Appointment With Death

US Berkley Books


Appointment With Death

Book Club Associates Books


Death on the Nile

St Michael Books



Harper Collins Books


Murder on the Orient Express

Agatha Christie's Poirot Novels List
with original publication date and alternate titles

The Mysterious Affair at Styles (1920)
The Murder on the Links (1923)
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (1926)
The Big Four (1927)
The Mystery of the Blue Train (1928)
Peril at End House (1932)
Lord Edgware Dies (1933) also published as Thirteen at Dinner
Murder on the Orient Express (1934) also published as Murder in the Calais Coach
Three Act Tragedy (1935) also published as Murder in Three Acts
Death in the Clouds (1935) also published as Death in the Air
The A.B.C. Murders (1936)
Murder in Mesopotamia (1936)
Cards on the Table (1936)
Dumb Witness (1937) also published as Poirot Loses a Client
Death on the Nile (1937)
Appointment with Death (1938)
Hercule Poirot's Christmas (1938) also published as Murder for Christmas and as A Holiday for Murder
Sad Cypress (1940)
One, Two, Buckle My Shoe (1940) also published as Overdose of Death and as The Patriotic Murders
Evil Under the Sun (1941)
Five Little Pigs (1942) also published as Murder in Retrospect
The Hollow (1946) also published as Murder after Hours
Taken at the Flood (1948) also published as There Is a Tide
Mrs McGinty's Dead (1952) also published as Blood Will Tell
After the Funeral (1953) also published as Funerals are Fatal
Hickory Dickory Dock (1955) also published as Hickory Dickory Death
Dead Man's Folly (1956)
Cat Among the Pigeons (1959)
The Clocks (1963)
Third Girl (1966)
Hallowe'en Party (1969)
Elephants Can Remember (1972)
Curtain (written about 1940, published 1975)