Back to Home Page

Tales of the City was a television mini-series that ran for one season in 1993 and was based on the first of the 'Tales of the City' series of novels by Armistead Maupin (list at bottom of page). There were two subsequent television series based on the next two books 'More Tales of the City' (1998) and 'Further Tales of the City' (2001). As far as I am aware only the first two books were re-published with TV-themed covers (once in 1993 and again in 1998 to coincide with the second TV series). A new fourth TV series was shown in 2019 on Netflix, set in the present day and featuring the passing of the long-standing character of Anna Madrigal.

= In My Collection / = Not in My Collection

Black Swan Books


Tales of the City

Tales of the City

More Tales of the City

Armistead Maupin's 'Tales of the City' Books List

with original publication date

Tales of the City (1978)
More Tales of the City (1980)
Further Tales of the City (1982)
Babycakes (1984)
Significant Others (1987)
Sure of You (1989)
Michael Tolliver Lives (2007)
Mary Ann in Autumn (2010)
The Days of Anna Madrigal (2014)