Back to Home Page

Worzel Gummidge was originally a series of ten books by Barbara Euphan Todd published between 1936 and 1963 (list at bottom of gallery). In 1979, ITV (Southern Television Network) produced Worzel Gummidge as a children's comedy drama starring ex-Doctor Who star Jon Pertwee as Worzel Gummidge and Una Stubbs as Aunt Sally. The series ran for four seasons in the UK from 1979 to 1981. A further telelvision series titled 'Worzel Gummidge Down Under' was made by Channel 4 Television and set in New Zealand which ran for two seasons from 1987 to 1989.

I do not know if all ten original novels were re-published with TV-themed covers and I do not know how many extra novels were written by Keith Waterhouse and Willis Hall, the scriptwriters for the TV series. The gallery below is therefore probably incomplete. If anyone has further information and/or images to contribute, please email me. All the books shown below are in my collection.

Puffin Books

Worzel Gummidge

Worzel Gummidge Again

The Television Adventures of Worzel Gummidge

More Television Adventures of Worzel Gummidge

The Trials of Worzel Gummidge

Worzel Gummidge at the Fair

Worzel's Birthday

Sparrow Books


New TV Adventures of Worzel Gummidge and Aunt Sally

The Irish Adventures of Worzel Gummidge

Kestrel Books

1981 (Hardback)

Worzel Gummidge's Television Adventures

Dragon Books


Worzel Gummidge Down Under

Picture Puffins


Worzel Gummidge Annuals Gallery


Barbara Euphan Todd's Worzel Gummidge Books List
with original publication dates

Worzel Gummidge, or The Scarecrow of Scatterbrook (1936)
Worzel Gummidge Again (1937)
More About Worzel Gummidge (1938)
Worzel Gummidge and Saucy Nancy (1947)
Worzel Gummidge Takes a Holiday (1949)
Earthy Mangold and Worzel Gummidge (1954)
Worzel Gummidge and the Railway Scarecrows (1955)
Worzel Gummidge at the Circus (1956)
Worzel Gummidge's Treasure Ship (1958)
Detective Worzel Gummidge (1963)