Back to Star Trek Books Index
Back to Home Page

After the success of the original Star Trek series, an animated series of 22 episodes was made over two seasons from 1973 to 1974. These were ALL novelised by Alan Dean Foster in a series of 10 books between 1974 and 1978, published in the US by Ballantine Books (Logs 1 - 8) and later reprinted by Del Rey Books including Logs 9 and 10. In 1991, Del Rey reprinted all ten books again to celebrate the 25th Anniversary of Star Trek with different colour covers. In the UK, Corgi Books published only Logs 1 - 5. Three compendium books were published in 1995 by Pocket Books and in 1996 Del Rey (Ballantine Books) re-published the series as 5 trade size paperbacks to celebrate the 30th anniversary of Star Trek, and again in 2006 to celebrate the 40th anniversary.

= In My Collection / = Not in My Collection

Ballantine Books

Only the first eight Logs were published by the Ballantine Books imprint in this cover design. Logs Nine and Ten were first published under Ballantine's Del Rey imprint in 1977 and 1978 (see next panel) along with numerous reprints of the original eight.

Log One (Jun 1974)
Log Two (Sep 1974)
Log Three (Jan 1975)
Log Four (Mar 1975)
Log Five (Aug 1975)
Log Six (Mar 1976)
Log Seven (Jun 1976)
Log Eight (Aug 1976)

Del Rey Books
Del Rey, an imprint of Ballantine Books, re-printed the series several times during the late 1970s and the 1980s, sometimes changing the colours with each reprint. I do not know how many colour variants exist of each Log but as and when I acquire them I will show them here. Logs Nine and Ten in this cover design were first editions.

Log One

Jan 1978 (15th ed) / Oct 1985 (17th ed)
Log Two

Nov 1978 (10th ed) / 1979 (11th ed) / Jan 1985 (12th ed)
Log Three

Unknown / Sep 1983 (11th ed) / Sep 1985 (12th ed)
Log Four

Dec 1977 (6th ed) / Oct 1985 (7th ed)
Log Five

Dec 1977 (4th ed) / Unknown / Sep 1983 (6th ed) / Oct 1985 (7th ed)
Log Six

Unknown / Oct 1985 (3rd ed)
Log Seven

Jan 1978 (4th ed)
Log Eight

Log Nine

Feb 1977 (1st ed)
Log Ten

Jan 1978 (1st ed)

Del Rey Books (25th Anniversary Reprints 1991)
In September 1991, Del Rey Books re-published all ten books as a celebration of the 25th anniversary of Star Trek.

Log One

21st ed
Log Two

16th ed
Log Three

15th ed
Log Four

11th ed
Log Five

10th ed
Log Six

6th ed
Log Seven

5th ed
Log Eight

4th ed
Log Nine

3rd ed
Log Ten

2nd ed

Del Rey Books (1992 Reprints)
In 1992, Del Rey Books re-published at least the first six Logs with a new cover design, each of which was featured on the omnibus editions issued in 1993 (see next panel).

Log One (Jul 1992)

24th ed
Log Two (Aug 1992)

18th ed
Log Three

Log Four

Log Five

Log Six


Del Rey Books (1993 Omnibus Reprints)
In 1993, Del Rey Books issued these three compendiums but didn't include Log Ten.

Logs 1-3 (Jan 1993)
Logs 4-6 (Jul 1993)
Logs 7-9 (Aug 1993)

UK - Corgi Books
In the UK only the first five Logs were published by Corgi Books from 1975 to 1976. Logs Six - Ten were due to be published in 1977 but the plan was later withdrawn.

Log One (1975)
Log Two (1975)
Log 3 (1975)
Log 4 (1976)
Log 5 (1976)

Pocket Books
In 1995, Pocket Books issued these three compendiums which included Log Ten.

Logs 1-3 (1995)
Logs 4-6 (1995)
Logs 7-10 (1995)

US - Del Rey (Ballantine Books)
In 1996, Del Rey Books issued these five trade size compendiums as a celebration of the 30th anniversary of Star Trek.

Logs 1 & 2 (Sep 1996)
Logs 3 & 4 (Sep 1996)
Logs 5 & 6 (Sep 1996)
Logs 7 & 8 (Sep 1996)
Logs 9 & 10 (Sep 1996)

And in 2006 again to celebrate the 40th anniversary of Star Trek. this time with the addition of 'The Animated Series' to the title.

Logs 1 & 2 (2006)
Logs 3 & 4 (2006)
Logs 5 & 6 (2006)
Logs 7 & 8 (2006)
Logs 9 & 10 (2006)